Horse Betting Facts on How Past Double Winners Ran in the Belmont

Horse Betting Facts on How Past Double Winners Ran the Belmont

Written by on June 5, 2015

From horseracing pundits to quacks on the street, pretty much everyone has been taking a piece of the American Pharoah, tearing him apart with all kinds of words and projections ahead of the Belmont Stakes. Not even our usually-quiet scientists have been left out of the unceasing talks. At this high rate of word-butchering, we are afraid that there will be no piece of American Pharoah left for our horse betting enthusiasts to buy in Saturday’s Belmont Stakes Odds. So, rather than participate in the continuous onslaughts against American Pharoah, the winner of this year’s Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, we take a different approach and educate our readers about something different—but relevant—to the 2015 Belmont Stakes.

Closer Look at Horse Betting Facts on How Past Double Winners Ran in the Belmont

Ever heard about horses that have won both the Derby and Preakness, and then gone ahead to win/lose in the Belmont? If you have, then well and good for you because we have more info about all that below. If not, the better for you, since that’s the center of focus in this write-up. Either way, let’s get to it, shall we?

Preface of the Triple Crown (Belmont Stakes)

By now, it’s common knowledge that the last horse to win all the three legs of the Triple Crown was Affirmed, back in 1978. As of the end of the 2014 Triple Crown event, 289 horses that have competed in the Triple Crown have won a single leg of the event, 52 horses have won two of the legs (23 winning the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, 18 winning the Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes, and 11 winning the Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes), with only 11 horses winning all three races.Considering American Pharoah has won both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, our focus is going to be on the horses in that similar category, with special attention being given to how the previous double winners of the Derby and Preakness performed in the Belmont.

How Previous Kentucky and Preakness Winners Fared with Belmont Stakes Betting Odds

Burgoo King, 1932

  • Looked set to make history, but was forced out of the Belmont with career–ending bowed tendon injury. In his absence, Faireno went on to win the Belmont that year.

Bold Venture, 1936

  • Like Burgoo King, Bold Venture was also forced out of the Belmont with career–ending bowed tendon injury, with Granville taking advantage to win the Belmont.

Pensive, 1944

  • Great fighting, though only managed a No. 2 finish at the Belmont behind Bounding Home.

Tim Tam, 1958

  • Finished 2nd behind Cavan

Carry Back, 1961

  • Blown out and could only manage a 7th place finish behind race-winner Sherluck

Northern Dancer, 1964

  • Tallied 3rd behind race winner Quadrangle

Kauai King, 1966

  • Finished 4th behind winner Amberoid

Forward Pass, 1968

  • Won the Kentucky Derby on disqualification before going on to finish 2nd in the Belmont behind Stage Door Johnny.

Majestic Prince, 1969

  • Finished 2nd behind Arts and Letters

Canonero II, 1971

  • Had a 4th-place finish behind Pass Catcher

Spectacular Bid, 1979

  • Came in 3rd at the Belmont, with Coastal getting the win

Pleasant Colony, 1981

  • Had a 3rd place finish behind race-winner Summing

Alysheba, 1987

  • Tallied at the 4th place, as Bet Twice got the win

Sunday Silence, 1989

  • Came in 2nd to Easy Goer at the Belmont

Silver Charm, 1997

  • Put in a memorable fight, but could only manage a 2nd-place finish behind Touch Gold

Real Quiet, 1998

  • Unlucky to become the second horse in the second year running to at No. 2 in the Belmont after winning the first two legs of the Triple Crown. Was 2nd behind Victory Gallop at the Belmont.

Charismatic, 1999

  • Put in a good performance, but finished 3rd behind the first-placed Lemon Drop Kid

War Emblem, 2002

  • Managed an 8th finish, as Sarava got the win.

Funny Cide, 2003

  • Finished third behind Empire Maker in the Belmont

Smarty Jones, 2004

  • Was closest to winning it all, but managed to finish second behind Birdstone

Big Brown, 2008

  • Did not finish the race, as Da’Tara getting the win.

I’ll Have Another, 2012

  • Did not start the race because of a tendon injury in his front left leg. Union Rags went on to win that Belmont Stakes.

California Chrome, 2014

  • Billed as hot favorite, but couldn’t deliver a winning formula, as he finished fourth, with Tonalist getting the win.