NCAAF R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl Preview.

2017 R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl Betting Preview

Written by on November 20, 2017

If you can’t wait to get your 2017 New Orleans Bowl bets in, then you have come to the right place. will have live betting odds available for every 2017 Bowl game as soon as the matchups are released.

2017 R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl Betting Preview

The Sun Belt has won this bowl in six of the last eight years, which included four straight victories by Louisiana–Lafayette from 2011-2014. However, in 2015 it was Louisiana Tech getting the win by recording a 47-28 beat down over Arkansas State. The favorite has won two straight in this bowl game heading into the 2017 contest after the under won the previous two meetings. Since its inception in 20017, the Underdog has gone 9-7 ATS while the Over/Under has gone 10-7.Colorado State beat North Texas 45-30 in the very first New Orleans bowl back in 2001, but the Mean Green got back in this annual matchup a year later to beat Cincinnati 24-19. North Texas then made two more consecutive appearances, losing both times by falling to Memphis in 2003 and Southern Miss in 2004.Speaking of Southern Miss, they actually won consecutive titles in 2003 and 2004 before winning again in 2008 and falling to Middle Tennessee in the 2009 version.Due to damage at the Louisiana Superdome by Hurricane Katrina, the 2005 game was played on December 20 in Lafayette, Louisiana on the campus of the Ragin’ Cajuns and was given the title of the New Orleans Bowl at Lafayette. The annual affair made its return to the Superdome on December 22, 2006, with a new corporate sponsor in freight company R+L Carriers, renaming the game the R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl.

Past Winners

  • 2016: Southern Miss
  • 2015: Louisiana Tech
  • 2014: Louisiana–Lafayette
  • 2013: Louisiana–Lafayette
  • 2012: Louisiana–Lafayette
  • 2011: Louisiana–Lafayette
  • 2010: Troy
  • 2009: Middle Tennessee
  • 2008: Southern Miss
  • 2007: Florida Atlantic
  • 2006: Troy
  • 2005: Southern Miss
  • 2004: Southern Miss
  • 2003: Memphis
  • 2002: North Texas
  • 2001: Colorado State