Betting Odds on Starting Lineup For The 2016 Kentucky Derby

Betting Odds on Starting Lineup For The 2016 Kentucky Derby

Written by on May 5, 2016

There will be full field of 20 (and two alternates waiting if something should happen to those in the current field) at Saturday’s running of the Kentucky Derby at storied Churchill Downs in Louisville. And favored Nyquist, named after a Detroit Red Wings player, has drawn Post 13 in the Run for the Roses. The colt is currently +300 to win the Derby on horse racing odds. Post time is about 6:34 p.m. ET and will be televised by NBC.

A Closer Look at the Betting Odds on Starting Lineup For The 2016 Kentucky Derby

Nyquist has not lost in seven races and will try to become the eighth unbeaten horse to win the Kentucky Derby. The seven undefeated winners have been Regret in 1915, Morvich in 1922, Majestic Prince in 1969, Seattle Slew in 1977, Smarty Jones in 2004, Barbaro in 2006 and Big Brown in 2008.

Nyquist is trained by Doug O’Neill and he had this to say about the draw: “We like it. We see a good sign. We were post No. 13 when we won the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile.”

Four horses have won from Post 13 since 1900, most recently Smarty Jones in 2004. O’Neill, jockey Mario Gutierrez and owner Paul Reddam teamed to win the race in 2012 with I’ll Have Another.

Another favorite coming in is Exaggerator, who has run against Nyquist three times, finishing second at the San Vicente Stakes, fourth at the Breeders’ Cup Juvenile and fifth at an MSW race last June. Exaggerator starts from Post 11, which did not thrill jockey Kent Desormeaux because his horse will be one of the first to load and will have a long wait in the starting gate.

“It sucks,” said Desormeaux, who has won the Derby three times. “But it’s like 100 years to the first turn. The only way you get in trouble is with a bad horse.”

A handful of closers have the rail — maiden Trojan Nation, Suddenbreakingnews, Creator and Mo Tom — while those that figure to sit on the early lead are to the outside. Outwork (No. 15) and Danzing Candy (No. 20) will both break to Nyquist’s right. Arkansas Derby winner Creator (No. 3), Louisiana Derby winner Gun Runner (No. 5) and Mohaymen (No. 14), unbeaten before defeated in the Florida Derby, are all 10-1.

Because the fields have gotten so big, the rail has gone from a good spot to a terrible spot. 1986 winner Ferdinand is the only horse since 1964 to win from the rail. At best, the horse unlucky enough to draw No. 1 or No. 2 gets stuck behind horses but manages to find some room later in that 1 1/4 mile race.

Victor Espinoza, who rode American Pharoah to a Triple Crown victory last year, is bidding to become the first jockey to win three Kentucky Derbys in a row. He’ll start from the No. 10 post on long shot Whitmore.

Bob Baffert, the trainer of last year’s Triple Crown winner American Pharoah, has one entry in Mor Spirit, who drew the No. 17 post. Churchill accepted 22 entries for the Derby. Also-eligibles Laoban and Cherry Wine have until 9 a.m. Friday to hope for a defection that clears their way into the field.

Here is the full field for the Kentucky Derby, with post position, horse name, jockey and opening odds (AE – alternate).

1. Trojan Nation / Aaron Gryder 50-1
2. Suddenbreakingnews / Luis Quinonez 20-1
3. Creator / Ricardo Santana Jr. 10-1
4. Mo Tom / Corey Lanerie 20-1
5. Gun Runner / Florent Geroux 10-1
6. My Man Sam / Irad Ortiz Jr. 20-1
7. Oscar Nominated / Julien Leparoux 50-1
8. Lani / Yutaka Take 30-1
9. Destin / Javier Castellano 15-1
10. Whitmore / Victor Espinoza 20-1
11. Exaggerator / Kent Desormeaux 8-1
12. Tom’s Ready / Brian Hernandez Jr. 30-1
13. Nyquist / Mario Gutierrez 3-1
14. Mohaymen / Junior Alvarado 10-1
15. Outwork / John Velazquez 15-1
16. Shagaf / Joel Rosario 20-1
17. Mor Spirit / Gary Stevens 12-1
18. Majesto / Emisael Jaramillo 30-1
19. Brody’s Cause / Luis Saez 12-1
20. Danzing Candy / Mike Smith 15-1
AE-21. Laoban / Cornelio Velasquez 50-1
AE-22. Cherry Wine / Robby Albarado 30-1