10 Biggest Goats in MLB Online Betting World Series History

10 Biggest Goats in MLB Betting World Series History

Written by on November 16, 2015

In any game as drama-filled as the World Series, there are going to be moments when a player takes his team and puts it on his back, carrying them to victory. However, there are also times when players simply commit a gaffe that ends up draining their team of hope. Let’s take a look at some of history’s biggest goats in MLB online betting World Series play history.

Brief Look at the 10 Biggest Goats in MLB Online Betting World Series History

10. Lonnie Smith (1991, Game 7)

It was Game 7…Braves against Twins. Jack Morris was on the mound, in the midst of a 10-inning complete game gem that brought the 1991 title to the Twin Cities. However, Lonnie Smith made a major baserunning blunder. Terry Pendleton hit a double that should have easily scored Smith. However, instead of paying attention to his third-base coach, he got fooled by Twins second baseman Chuck Knoblauch and stopped at third base. That run might have given Atlanta the run they needed to win the game.

9. Babe Ruth (1926, Game 7)

Ruth was the tying run on first base with two outs in the ninth inning. Bob Meusel was next up for the Yankees, against Pete Alexander with the St. Louis Cardinals. The Babe tried to swipe second, though, and was thrown out on the play, bringing the World Series to an end when he was ignominiously tagged at second.

8. Jose Mesa (1997, Game 7)

The Cleveland Indians were only three outs away from winning their first World Series since 1948. However, Mesa coughed up a 2-1 lead in the ninth inning, permitting a run when Craig Counsell smacked a sacrifice fly. The Marlins would then prevail in extra innings, winning on Edgar Renteria’s RBI single in the 11th inning.

7. Fred Snodgrass (1912, Game 8)

Yes, Game 8. Originally, the World Series was a best-of-nine series, so there were four World Series to go eight games. However, in 1912, the World Series had already been shortened to a best-of-seven affair. Game 5 ended in a tie, though, because of darkness. In this Game 8, center fielder Fred Snodgrass dropped an easy fly ball by the Boston Red Sox that paved the way for two unearned runs, as they rolled past the New York Giants.

6. Neftali Feliz (2011, Game 6)

The Texas Rangers had the St. Louis Cardinals down to their final strike in the World Series, but Feliz permitted two runs in the ninth inning to let the game go into extra innings. The Cardinals would win in 11 innings and then take Game 7 also.

5. George Frazier (1981, three games)

George Frazier is one of only two pitchers to lose three games in a World Series. His ERA in the 1981 Series was an unsightly 17.18. Who’s the other pitcher to get this “honor”? Lefty Williams…from the 1919 Black Sox.

4. Mitch Williams (1993, Game 5)

The Phillies’ closer came in to protect a 6-5 lead in Game 5, but instead he gave up a bomb to Joe Carter to clinch the series for Toronto.

3. George Peckinpaugh (1925)

This Washington Senators shortstop was a stellar defensive shortstop, but he would make eight errors in the 1925 Fall Classic, with two happening in Game 7, giving the Pittsburgh Pirates four unearned runs..and a world championship.

2. Mariano Rivera (2001)

The New York Yankees were just three outs away from back-to-back titles, but Rivera fell apart in the clincher against Arizona. He made a throwing error, hit a batter and permitted three hits.

1. Bill Buckner (1986, Game 6)

Mookie Wilson’s ground ball…says it all.