Charles Woodson is a sure fit hall of famer.

2016 Eye-Opening NFL Pro Bowl Betting Preview

Written by on January 19, 2016

When the 2016 NFL Pro Bowl gets underway on Sunday, January 31, 2016 at 8:00 PM ET, live from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii, you’re going to be treated to a game that always results in a fun-filled, high-scoring affair. Better yet, thanks to the bettor-friendly management at and this expert betting preview, you’re going to get all of the insight you’ll need to make the most out of your 2016 Pro Bowl betting selection. With that said and game day quickly approaching, let’s get started.

2016 NFL Pro Bowl

When: January 31, 2016 at 8:00 PM ETWhere: Aloha Stadium, Honolulu, HawaiiTV: ESPNAnalysis: This year’s Pro Bowl teams will be captained by Hall of Fame wide receivers Jerry Rice (winning 2014 Pro Bowl captain) and Michael Irvin (winning 2015 Pro Bowl captain) while Kansas City Chiefs head coach Andy Reid and Green Bay’s Mike McCarthy will serves as the respective head coaches. The widely-respected coaches were chosen for coaching the highest seeded teams from each conference to lose in the Divisional Round. This format has now been used since the 2010 Pro Bowl. This year’s match up will continue the “unconferenced” format that began with the 2014 Pro Bowl and marks the seventh straight season that the Pro Bowl will take place prior to the Super Bowl.The players were selected by the consensus votes of fans, players and coaches with each group’s vote counting one-third toward determining the 86 Pro Bowl berths. Two additional “need” players will be chosen by each head coach and must be long snappers. The NFL is the only sports league that combines voting by fans, coaches and players to determine its all-star teams.Players will be assigned to their respective teams through the new, Pro Bowl Draft, which will air on Wednesday, January 27 on ESPN2 (7:30 PM ET). Irvin and Rice return for the second time after being the winning captains during the previous two Pro Bowls.


Unlike a normal NFL contest, the Pro Bowl is played a bit differently.Every quarter will end with a two-minute warning and change of possession to promote more quick-strike drives (teams will not be allowed to sit on the ball since the clock will stop on any play that doesn’t gain positive yardage inside two minutes). There will also be no kickoffs and all quarter-opening possessions now start at the 25-yard line with the first determined by coin toss.Cover 2 and press coverage will now be allowed; only man-to-man coverage was allowed in the past, goal-line situations notwithstanding.While Pro Bowl betting is often derided by both, fans and oddsmakers alike, it remains highly popular with fans across the globe.The underdog has won two straight but the ATS outcome is split evenly at 2-2 over the last four meetings. Here is a list of the SU and ATS results of the last nine Pro Bowls.2015 – Irvin 32, Carter 28 ATS Line: Team Carter -2.52014 – Rice 22, Irvin 21 ATS Line: Team Rice -1.52013 – NFC 62, AFC 35 ATS Line: AFC -12012 – AFC 59, NFC 41 ATS Line: NFC -62011– NFC 55, AFC 41 ATS Line: Pk ‘Em2010– AFC 41, NFC 34 ATS Line: NFC -2.52009 – NFC 30, AFC 21 ATS Line: NFC -2.52008 – NFC 42, AFC 30 ATS Line: AFC -32007 – AFC 31, AFC 28 ATS Line: AFC -4Here are the selections for the 2016 Pro Bowl.Russell Wilson will be looking to top off his season with a Pro Bowl appearance.


  • Tom Brady, Patriots
  • Cam Newton, Panthers
  • Carson Palmer, Cardinals
  • Aaron Rodgers, Packers
  • Ben Roethlisberger, Steelers
  • Russell Wilson, Seahawks
Wide Receivers
  • Odell Beckham Jr., Giants
  • Antonio Brown, Steelers
  • Larry Fitzgerald, Cardinals
  • A.J. Green, Bengals
  • DeAndre Hopkins, Texans
  • Calvin Johnson, Lions
  • Julio Jones, Falcons
  • Brandon Marshall, Jets
  • Jason Peters, Eagles
  • Tyron Smith, Cowboys
  • Joe Staley, 49ers
  • Joe Thomas, Browns
  • Andrew Whitworth, Bengals
  • Trent Williams, Redskins
  • David DeCastro, Steelers
  • Mike Iupati, Cardinals
  • Zack Martin, Cowboys
  • Josh Sitton, Packers
  • Trai Turner, Panthers
  • Marshal Yanda, Ravens
  • Travis Frederick, Cowboys
  • Ryan Kalil, Panthers
  • Alex Mack, Browns
  • Mike Pouncey, Dolphins
Tight Ends
  • Tyler Eifert, Bengals
  • Rob Gronkowski, Patriots
  • Travis Kelce, Chiefs
  • Greg Olsen, Panthers
Running backs
  • Jonathan Stewart, Panthers
  • Adrian Peterson, Vikings
  • LeSean McCoy, Bills
  • Todd Gurley, Rams
  • Devonta Freeman, Falcons
  • Doug Martin, Buccaneers
  • Mike Tolbert, Panthers
  • Marcel Reece, Raiders


Defensive ends
  • Ezekiel Ansah, Lions
  • Michael Bennett, Seahawks
  • Chandler Jones, Patriots
  • Khalil Mack, Raiders
  • J.J. Watt, Texans
  • Muhammad Wilkerson, Jets
Defensive tackles
  • Geno Atkins, Bengals
  • Calais Campbell, Cardinals
  • Fletcher Cox, Eagles
  • Aaron Donald, Rams
  • Gerald McCoy, Bucs
  • Kawann Short, Panthers
Outside linebackers
  • Jamie Collins, Patriots
  • Thomas Davis, Panthers
  • Tamba Hali, Chiefs
  • Justin Houston, Chiefs
  • Von Miller, Broncos
  • DeMarcus Ware, Broncos
Inside/Middle linebackers
  • NaVorro Bowman, 49ers
  • Luke Kuechly, Panthers
  • Clay Matthews, Packers
  • Bobby Wagner, Seahawks
  • Malcolm Butler, Patriots
  • Chris Harris, Broncos
  • Josh Norman, Panthers
  • Marcus Peters, Chiefs
  • Patrick Peterson, Cardinals
  • Darrelle Revis, Jets
  • Richard Sherman, Seahawks
  • Aqib Talib, Broncos
Free safeties
  • Tyrann Mathieu, Cardinals
  • Reggie Nelson, Bengals
  • Earl Thomas, Seahawks
Strong safeties
  • Eric Berry, Chiefs
  • Kam Chancellor, Seahawks
  • Charles Woodson, Raiders
  • Special Teams

    • Sam Koch, Ravens
    • Johnny Hekker, Rams
    • Stephen Gostkowski, Patriots
    • Dan Bailey, Cowboys
    Return specialists
    • Darren Sproles, Eagles
    • Tyler Lockett, Seahawks
    Special Teamers
    • Matthew Slater, Patriots
    • Justin Bethel, Cardinals