Updated NCAAF Championship Odds - December 4th Edition

Updated NCAAF Championship Odds – December 4th Edition

Written by on December 4, 2017

After all the drama we saw on Conference Championship Saturday, it was hard to believe that there could be any more excitement still left on tap, but the Playoff Committee made sure there was. Given the results of the conference games, we all basically knew that Clemson, Oklahoma, and Georgia had punched their ticket to the playoffs, but who was going to get that 4th spot? Ohio State, Alabama, and USC all believed that they had a shot, and all made compelling arguments for their inclusion in the college football playoff. As you probably all know by now, it was the Alabama Crimson Tide who got the nod, which means they will head to the Sugar Bowl to play Clemson, while Oklahoma and Georgia will hook up in the Rose Bowl. The College Football Championship Lines are up, so let’s take a look at how things might play out the Playoffs and NCAAF Championship odds.

Updated NCAAF Championship Odds – December 4th Edition

Championship Game Information

  • Date: January 8, 2018
  • Season: 2017
  • Venue: Mercedes-Benz Stadium
  • Location: Atlanta, Georgia
  • TV: ESPN
  • Live Stream: Watch ESPN

Top NCAAB Picks & Predictions for the Week – December 4th Edition

The Favorite

  • Team: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Current Record: 11-1
  • NCAAF Championship Odds: +180
Despite having to sweat it out and wait for the nod from the playoff committee, the Alabama Crimson Tide (+180) has been installed as the favorites to win it all. While this may seem like an odd decision from the bookies, we need to remember that Alabama was never ranked lower than #2 all season before losing to Auburn in the final week. This is a team that was terribly banged-up in a final couple of weeks, but who will now have a month to get healthy and prepare for their 3rd straight playoff meeting with Clemson. You give Nick Saban this much time to draw up a game plan and you know that you are potentially in for a world of trouble. The Sugar Bowl looks as though it may well be a classic, and it’ll certainly be fun to see these two play the rubber match.

The Smart Pick

  • Team: Clemson Tigers / Oklahoma Sooners
  • Current Record: Clemson Tigers 12-1 / Oklahoma Sooners 12-1
  • NCAAF Championship Odds: Clemson Tigers +200 / Oklahoma Sooners +200
As it stands right now, I am having a tough time deciding which of these two teams should be considered the smart pick for the college football National Championship. The Clemson Tigers (+200) are the defending champions and are on the brink of heading to the big game for the third straight year, which means that they have all the pedigree that you need. Clemson NCAAF Championship Odds are getting better and better On the other hand, the Oklahoma Sooners (+200) have looked totally unstoppable on offense this season. They have the likely Heisman Winner in QB Baker Mayfield, although the knock on this team is that they rely on him a little too heavily. No team has been able to slow him down yet, so why can’t the Sooners go on and win a National Championship?

The Longshot Pick

  • Team: Georgia Bulldogs
  • Current Record: 12-1
  • NCAAF Championship Odds: +300
It was apparent early on in the season that coach Kirby Smart had put together a pretty special team. In his second year in charge of the Georgia Bulldogs (+300), Smart is finally starting to build the type of team that he wants, and this looks like a program that is going to be good for many years to come. The biggest question with the Bulldogs is whether they are ready for prime time right now. They have arguably the best running game in all of college football, but they still have a freshman QB running the offense. That said, Jake Fromm was great in the SEC Championship Game, but how will he match up with Baker Mayfield in the Rose Bowl.

Last 10 College Football Champions

  • 2016: Clemson Tigers
  • 2015: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2014: Ohio State Buckeyes
  • 2013: Florida State Seminoles
  • 2012: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2011: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2010: Auburn Tigers
  • 2009: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2008: Florida Gators
  • 2007: LSU Tigers