2018 NBA Slam Dunk Contest Betting Predictions

2018 NBA Slam Dunk Contest Betting Prediction

Written by on February 14, 2018

With the 2018 All-Star festivities going down this coming weekend, basketball betting buffs everywhere have the opportunity to cash in with a potentially winning wager on the NBA Slam Dunk Contest Betting Odds that are currently being offered. Thanks to the expert betting analysis that you’re about to get, you’re going to be able to maximize your chances of cashing in with a potentially winning wager.

2018 NBA Slam Dunk Contest Betting Prediction

  • Edition: 33rd
  • When: Saturday, February 17, 2018, 8:00 PM ET
  • Where: Staples Center
  • TV: TNT
  • Live Stream: NBA League Pass

General Rules

  • There will be 5 judges. For each dunk, a score from six to ten will be given by each judge, resulting in a maximum score of 50 and a minimum score of 30.
  • For each scored dunk in both rounds (Dunks #1 and #2 in the First Round and Dunks # 1 and #2 in the Final Round), each dunker will be limited to three attempts to complete his dunk.
  • An attempt is defined as the player controlling the basketball and moving it towards the rim.
  • A referee will judge whether a dunk is considered a made dunk or a missed dunk. Made dunks cannot be “replaced”, even if the dunker has remaining attempts.
  • Use of any props or other people in any way during the slam dunk competition must be approved in advance of the competition by the NBA Basketball Operations department.
  • At the discretion of the referee, instant replay may be utilized for rules compliance.

2018 Participants

Dennis Smith Jr.

  • Team: Dallas Mavericks
  • Slam Dunk Contest Betting Odds: +155
The rookie point guard for the Dallas Mavericks is the favorite for a couple of reasons despite having a modest 27 dunks on the season. Despite standing ‘just’ 6’3”, Smith is a high-flying aerial acrobat that has an explosiveness to him that is reminiscent of Oklahoma City Thunder superstar Russell Westbrook. Smith threw down a 360 dunk against Washington earlier this season, plus he’s boys with LeBron James, so there’s that! Here is a look at some of the 6’3” former North Carolina State point guard’s hellacious dunks.

Donovan Mitchell

  • Team: Utah Jazz
  • Slam Dunk Contest Betting Odds: +210
Donovan ‘Spida’ Mitchell is a 6’3” rookie for the Utah Jazz, but unlike Smith, he’s a true shooting guard that will challenge for the Rookie of the Year award this season. The former Louisville star has a 7’0” wingspan and is averaging a stunning 19.5 points per game as he frequently attacks the rim. Not only that, but Mitchell has thrown down 25 dunks this season with many of them being explosive jams that have come in the faces of several unsuspecting opponents.

Larry Nance Jr.

  • Team: Cleveland Cavaliers
  • Slam Dunk Contest Betting Odds: +315
Larry Nance Jr. has thrown down a whopping 59 dunks this season, so he’s the clear, slam dunk contest leader. Nance, however, is 6’9” and that generally is a negative for slam dunk contest fans and bettors that love to see smaller players with big hops rise up and throw down hellacious jams. Larry Nance Jr is not a safe Slam Dunk Contest Betting option. Still, the former Lakers reserve could get some love from his former Staples Center fans – and the voters. Check out Nance Jr. right here!

Victor Oladipo

  • Team: Indiana Pacers
  • Slam Dunk Contest Betting Odds: +500
Veteran shooting guard Victor Oladipo is in the midst of a breakout campaign that has seen him put up a stellar 24.4 points per game. Standing 6’4”, Oladipo has some really good ups and has thrown down 47 dunks on the season, with many coming in completely astonishing fashion. Oladipo threw down a 360 against the Chicago Bulls earlier this season and last year’s dunk contest winner also played for the Pacers (Glenn Robinson III). Check out Oladipo in action right here! Expert Slam Dunk Contest Betting Pick I’m going with Victor Oladipo to get up – and throw down – the big upset win as a +500 ‘longshot’ pick.

Last 10 Slam Dunk Champions Winners

  • 2017: Glenn Robinson III
  • 2016: Zach LaVine
  • 2015: Zach LaVine
  • 2014: John Wall
  • 2013: Terrence Ross
  • 2012: Jeremy Evans
  • 2011: Blake Griffin
  • 2010: Nate Robinson
  • 2009: Nate Robinson
  • 2008: Dwight Howard