2017 NFL MVP Betting Odds: Complete Breakdown, Best Picks

2017 NFL MVP Betting Odds: Complete Breakdown, Best Picks

Written by on July 11, 2017

With NFL training camps set to open all across the country this month, it’s easy to understand why football fans and bettors are starting to get a little excited about the upcoming season. As of now, the betting odds favor Tom Brady to win the NFL MVP award in 2017.Over the past week or so, we have looked at some of the individual teams and how they might fare in the season total wins category.We all know that the teams who land at or near the top of the heap are the ones who have an elite QB in the fold, and that has been proven by the NFL MVP awards over the years.You need to go all the way back to 1987 to find the last time that either a QB or an RB did not win the MVP, and it’s tough to imagine that streak is about to be broken. Of the last 10 seasons, it has been a QB who has won this individual award, and that is why we are going to start our best MVP picks with the most likely QB candidates.

2017 NFL MVP Betting Odds: Complete Breakdown, Best picks

Matt Ryan (+1200)

Matty Ice was lights out last season, and was thoroughly deserving of his MVP crown. The big question heading into this season is whether he can shake off the disappointment of losing in the Super Bowl. If he can, and the offense performs as it did last year, then you are looking at a very good price for Mr. Ryan.  The concern here is that the Falcons will go the route of the Carolina Panthers of last year, as they fell way back after losing in the Super Bowl the previous season.

Tom Brady (+400)

No real surprise to find that Brady is the early favorite to snag his 3 rd MVP crown. He may not have won it since 2010, but last year’s Super Bowl proved that he is arguably the GOAT at the QB position.Brady is getting up there in years, but is showing no signs of slowing down. It’s tough to bet against this man, even when we all believe that we probably should.

Aaron Rodgers (+650)

Rodgers is another player looking for his 3 rd MVP award, but it’s fair to say that he is going to need more help from his offense than he got last year. Rodgers and the Packers were totally outgunned by Ryan and the Falcons in the playoffs after a run of wins that Rodgers essentially guaranteed earlier in the season.The Packers look as though they are going to be good this season, so don’t count this man out.

Ben Roethlisberger (+1000)

After talking about potentially retiring from football, Roethlisberger has returned, and he has at his disposal what is arguably the best group of receivers in the league. The biggest question that always surrounds Big Ben is his health, but if he can make it through the entire season unscathed, and his receivers perform as we believe they will, the MVP could be heading to the ‘burgh.

Ezekiel Elliott (+1600)

Dak Prescott of the Dallas Cowboys essentially forced Tony Romo into early retirement after delivering a rookie season for the ages. While you cannot overlook what Prescott did, it would not have been possible without the running game with Ezekiel Elliott leading the way.This was a one-two punch that left opposing defenses dizzy, and it would not be a surprise to see more of the same this season, assuming both players do not experience a sophomore slump.Ezekiel Elliot is one of the top NFL MVP favorites to win the award this season.

LeVeon Bell (+1100)

While Elliott is all about pounding the ball down the throats of the opposing defense, Bell is more about being patient and waiting for holes to open, which he does to devastating effect. It’s also worth remembering that Bell is a legitimate receiving threat, too, which makes him one of the most sought after players in the league.The Steelers are looking to lock him down long term prior to the start of the season, and if that deal gets done, look out. I believe it will be Bell who walks away with the MVP this season.

More Top NFL MVP Betting Odds

  • Andrew Luck +1600
  • Cam Newton +2500
  • Dak Prescott +1200
  • David Johnson +1600
  • Derek Carr +1600
  • Drew Brees +2500
  • Marcus Mariotta +2500
  • Russell Wilson +1000

Previous NFL MVP Winners

  • 2016 – Matt Ryan. Atlanta Falcons. Quaterback.
  • 2015 – Cam Newton. Carolina Panthers. Quaterback.
  • 2014 – Aaron Rodgers. Green Bay Packers. Quaterback.
  • 2013 – Peyton Manning. Denver Broncos. Quaterback
  • 2012 – Adrian Peterson. Minnesota Vikings. Running Back.
  • 2011 – Aaron Rodgers. Green Bay Packers. Quaterback.
  • 2010 – Tom Brady. New England Patriots. Quaterback.

Final 2017 NFL MVP Betting Predictions

It’s still pretty early to really give a definitive answer on this subject. Once the season starts, we’ll have a clearer vision on it. But if I had to make those picks right now, I would have to go with Tom Brady, just because of the simple fact that his days are numbered and we could start seeing those last days of the GOAT.On the other hand, I like guys like Roethlisberger and Rodgers to take that title as well. But we also might a surprise from one of the new guys that started last season. Such is the case of Ezekial Elliot.As a final note, be sure to keep your eyes peeled for upcoming betting guides and strategies before the season kicks off. It looks like a season that will be pretty memorable.