NCAA Basketball Odds Preseason Coach of the Year Preview

NCAA Basketball Odds Preseason Coach of the Year Preview

Written by on November 13, 2015

Ditch away all those small names you are thinking of in the arena of college basketball coaching… This, right here, is the big boys’ league, and we only roll with the big names that have proven to be worth their salt in the NCAAB odds, or any other renowned college basketball online betting forums. With the 2015-16 college basketball season set for tipoff this Friday, feel most welcome to usher yourselves into the year with this list of top candidates for the NCAAB Coach of the Year Award.

NCAA Basketball Odds Preseason Coach of the Year Preview

5. Bruce Pearl, Auburn

It crazy to think that a couple of seasons ago, Auburn’s name only mattered in the world of college competitions when we talked about football and the team’s rivalry with Alabama for the Iron Bowl. During those days, basketball and Auburn were two words not worthy of being used in the same sentence. Yet right now, the Tigers are a borderline Top-25 team in the NCAAB, thanks to Pearl’s ability to transform Auburn into one of the most exciting basketball teams that attracts top recruits like every other day. If the Tigers can step it up a notch higher with better performances this season, don’t be surprised to find Pearl’s name in the final shortlist for this year’s coach of the year awards.

4. Bill Self, Kansas

You already know that Kansas University owns a mind-boggling streak of winning dominance in the Big 12. You also know that Self has been a real tactician, a key reason the Jayhawks have been wreaking havoc in the Big 12 and constantly challenging to go it deep into the postseason play (unlike their lackluster football counterparts). When you consider all that, and the fact that Kansas came with a loaded roster into this year’s campaign, it goes without saying Self could be up there amongst the most lauded coaches this season, particularly if his team goes as far as the Final Four or even Final Eight.

3. Cuonzo Martin, California

As far as sheer talent goes, the Golden Bears have it all—one of the best point guards in the nation, very athletic wings and solid depth to work with, thanks to Martin’s recruiting prowess. If the Golden Bears can scratch it deep into the postseason games, as is expected of them, you can be sure that everyone in California (and the nation at large) will be trumpeting Martin’s name for this coaching award.

2. Tony Bennett, Virginia

Do we even have to talk about this Bennett guy and his reeling list of accomplishments in the ACC? Yes, I know Virginia lost a crucial cog in the team in Justin Anderson to the NBA and replacing him will be difficult, but that isn’t much of a challenge to Bennett, who has been through tougher obstacles in the past and still led his team to success. Plus, both Duke and UNC (who are NCAAB betting favorites for most folks in the ACC) also lost a couple of talent, leveling the playing court for competition. Granted, I agree that it doesn’t look that favorable for Virginia, given the challenge posed by the stronger North Carolina and the Blue Devils. But if the Cavs somehow manage to beat the NCAAB odds to clinch the ACC, or even go ahead to win the National Championship, nobody would be able to stop Bennett from receiving this coaching award (once again).

1. Roy Williams, North Carolina

Well, well, well… look what the Tar Heels dragged into this list if it isn’t His Majesty Old Roy. Surely guys, can’t we just start inventing new awards for Mr. Williams? I mean, the coaches on this list are awe-inspiring and all, but very few can boast of having the patience and skill to build solid teams from the ground up like Old Roy. And now that his years of hard work look ripe for harvesting in the form of a lethal mix of interior and perimeter threats, along with vast experience of tried-and-tested players (like Marcus Paige); a National Championship should be in the offing for this North Carolina team—something that would definitely come with a coach of the year award for Williams.