2016 NFL Prop Bet Expert Pick

2016 NFL Prop Bet Expert Pick

Written by on August 1, 2016

The 2016 NFL exhibition season starts this Sunday already as the Green Bay Packers and Indianapolis Colts square off in the Hall of Fame Game in Canton, Ohio. The regular season starts 38 days from Monday. Here’s a NFL prop betting recommendation for the year.

Analyzing the 2016 NFL Prop Bet Expert Pick

NFL Coach of the Year

Arizona’s Bruce Arians and Minnesota’s Mike Zimmer are the +700 favorites on this prop. Arians’ Cardinals are defending NFC West champions and lost to Carolina in the NFC title game. The team returns most of the key parts of last year’s team and has made additions to a couple of weak spots that could make for a deeper team. That would explain why Arians believes that anything short of a Super Bowl win will be an unacceptable end for the 2016 season.

“When you have the type of season we had, you expect to do better,” Arians said. “So, we got to do better. We got to get back to where we were first and then do better.”

Though Arians said there’s competition at every spot on his team, the Cardinals’ 63-year- old coach is most interested in his crop of young defensive backs. He said the Cards have four safeties and four cornerbacks who are vying for three starting jobs.

The Vikings won the NFC North title last year, upsetting Green Bay at home in Week 17 to claim the title. The Packers had won the division the previous four years. However, the Vikings lost in the wild-card round at home to Seattle as kicker Blair Walsh missed an easy 27 yard-field goal in the final seconds. The Vikings rewarded Zimmer with a contract extension last week. Zimmer holds an 18-14 record in his two seasons as a head coach, the second-most wins by a Viking head coach his first two season trailing only Dennis Green who had 20 wins.

Zimmer, who went 7-9 in his first season without the services of suspended running back Adrian Peterson, has elevated a defense that allowed the most points in the league before he arrived. Last year, the Vikings allowed the fifth-fewest points, and they’re expected to be formidable again in 2016. Zimmer, 60, wasn’t entering the last year of his contract in 2016 and said there was “nothing pushing this deal.”

No coach has ever won this in back-to- back years and Carolina’s Ron River is the defending winner. Most analysts wrote the Panthers off as a legitimate Super Bowl contender when No. 1 receiver Kelvin Benjamin went down with a torn ACL last August. Instead, Rivera’s outfit became just the fourth team inNFL history to win 14 consecutive games to start the season.

The Panthers captured their third consecutive NFC South title, claimed the top seed in the NFC, won the second NFC Championship in franchise history and appeared in Super Bowl 50, and Rivera was named NFL Coach of the Year for the second time in three years. Carolina finished the season with a franchise-best 17-2 record, including postseason victories over Seattle in the NFC Divisional Playoff and Arizona in the NFC Championship, and became just the seventh team in the Super Bowl era to post a 15-1 or better record in the regular season. The Panthers are one of four teams to reach the divisional round of the playoffs each of the last three seasons.

My Expert Pick

Obviously only a coach on a good team is going to win this award. And my choice is Jacksonville's Gus Bradley at +1800. The Jaguars are poised to have one of their best seasons in years with a ton of good young talent. They better or Bradley will be fired. Bradley is 12-36 in three years as the Jags' coach, which includes a disappointing five wins in 2015.