2020 National Championship Betting Lines – Underdogs Analysis

2020 National Championship Betting Lines – Underdogs Analysis

Written by on January 8, 2019

With the Clemson Tigers pulling off the big national championship ‘upset’ to beat Alabama on Monday night and claim their second national championship in three years, now is a perfect time for college football betting buffs everywhere to start looking toward next season – and no – it’s never too early to start making betting plans for a new campaign.

Thanks to this look at six 2020 national championship betting underdogs that could potentially rise up and put some bark in their bite, you’re going to get some great early insight into a half-dozen teams that could challenge for the 2020 national championship.

Let’s get started.

2020 National Championship Betting Lines – Underdogs Analysis

Texas Longhorns

  • 2020 National Championship Odds: (20-1)

Texas went 10-4 this past season and 7-2 in Big 12 play, but the Longhorns capped off their 2018 campaign with a huge, 28-21 win over No. 5 Georgia in the Sugar Bowl. Texas went 7-6 in Tom Herman’s first season in 2017 and then jumped up to 10 wins this past season. With an experienced quarterback returning in dual-threat signal-caller Sam Ehlinger and talent on both sides of the ball, Texas could surprise in 2019.

Nebraska Cornhuskers

  • 2020 National Championship Odds: (25-1)

Nebraska went 4-8 in Scott Frost’s first season and 3-6 in Big Ten play, but things could change in 2019 behind gifted quarterback Adrian Martinez after he passed for 2,617 yards with 17 touchdowns while running for 629 with eight scores as a freshman this past season.

Washington Huskies

  • 2020 National Championship Odds: (25-1)

The Huskies went 10-4 and 7-2 in Pac-12 play while winning 10 games and playing in a New Year’s Six bowl game for the third straight year under head coach Chris Petersen. While Washington returns seven starters on offense, the Huskies return just two on defense and lose four-year starting quarterback Jake Browning and four-time 1,000-yard rusher Myles Gaskin and those losses will be difficult to overcome, to say the least.

Florida Gators

  • 2020 National Championship Odds: (25-1)
The Gators went 10-3 and 5-3 in SEC play in Dan Mullen’s first season and capped off their 2018 campaign with a statement-making 41-15 blowout win over then, No. 8 Michigan in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

Now, Florida looks poised to challenge for something even bigger next season if quarterback Feleipe Franks can continue his maturation under the offensive-minded Mullen. While Florida returns five starters on offense and seven on defense, they’re losing four starting offensive linemen, so they’ll need to find capable replacements in a hurry.

Notre Dame Fighting Irish

  • 2020 National Championship Odds: (25-1)

Despite getting blasted off the field in their national semifinal matchup against Clemson, the Fighting Irish (12-1) return starting quarterback Ian Book returning, along with four starting offensive linemen and two of their top three receivers.

Notre Dame comes in as one of the top underdogs to win the 2020 National Championship.

The bad news is that Notre dames lose several key starters on defense and both starting kickers. Still, Brian Kelly has talent and the Irish could challenge for something meaningful in 2019.

Oregon Ducks

  • 2020 National Championship Odds: (30-1)

The Ducks went a modest 9-5 and 5-4 in Pac-12 play to fall one win short of reaching the coveted double-digit mark, but Oregon could challenge in 2019 for a few reasons.

First and foremost, the Ducks are returning gifted quarterback Justin Herbert after he spurned the NFL and Oregon could have every starter on offense back – and that looks dangerous after they finished second in scoring in the Pac-12. Head coach Mario Cristobal has talent, but the Ducks have a treacherous schedule that includes dates against non-conference title hopeful Auburn and Texas.

Last 10 National Champions

  • 2018: Clemson Tigers
  • 2017: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2016: Clemson Tigers
  • 2015: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2014: Ohio State Buckeyes
  • 2013: Florida State Seminoles
  • 2012: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2011: Alabama Crimson Tide
  • 2010: Auburn Tigers
  • 2009: Alabama Crimson Tide